Facebook hits 350 million users

December 3rd, 2009

Facebook has just reached 350 million users in December 2009, and will be soon making some changes to serve the Facebook community better.

In an open letter from Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg to all Facebook users, Mark Zuckerberg revealed the upcoming changes to Facebook. The changes to the website will include removing the current regional networks. It is said that some regional networks are overloaded with members, and users of the particular network will share their information with all other users in the same network. For example, if I am in “Malaysia” network, and I allow my profile to be viewed by “Only Friends and Network”, my friends and EVERYONE in “Malaysia” network can see my information. No wonder Facebook wants to remove the regional networks.

Credit: Mashable

Credit: Mashable

The reason for this is so that Facebook users can have better privacy setting. After all, Facebook was ranked at the tenth in the 10 America Most Trusted Companies in Privacy.   The changes are said to allow users more control over what is shared with who sees every piece of content you create of upload to your profile. As such, we need to review and update the way we adjust Facebook privacy settings to help protect your identity.

The Facebook’s current privacy model, according to Mark Zuckerberg:

Facebook’s current privacy model revolves around “networks” — communities for your school, your company or your region. This worked well when Facebook was mostly used by students, since it made sense that a student might want to share content with their fellow students.

The revamped privacy model is to remove regional networks completely and create a simpler model for privacy control. It means that content will be only available to your friends, friends of your friends, or everyone. In addition of that, users are able to control who sees which piece of content you create or upload.

In the open letter, Facebook will ask Facebook users to review and update their privacy settings. It will be done step by step with clear instruction.

You’ll see a message that will explain the changes and take you to a page where you can update your settings. When you’re finished, we’ll show you a confirmation page so you can make sure you chose the right settings for you. As always, once you’re done you’ll still be able to change your settings whenever you want.

Look like we have to set our privacy setting once again. It is better to be safe than sorry. We will never know how others might misuse and abuse the information they get from Facebook as a consequence of negligence in setting own profile privacy.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • LinkedIn
  • MySpace
  • Ping.fm
  • Twitter
  • Twitthis

Comments are closed.